Thoreau, Dillard, and Nature Classics

I’ve vowed to read more nature classics in 2014, and I recently put out a call on Facebook to solicit recommendations. I also checked out booklists, such as The Association for the Study of Literature and the Environment’s “Top Ten Books of Nature Writing.” I marked off ones I’ve already read and narrowed down my list to the following:

Berry, Wendell. Art of the Commonplace.
Carson, Rachel. Silent Spring.
Ehrlich, Gretel. The Solace of Open Spaces.
Griffin, Susan. Woman and Nature.
Leopold, Aldo. Sand County Almanac.
Muir, John. Nature Writings.
Snyder, Gary. Practice of the Wild.
Stegner, Wallace. Beyond the Hundredth Meridian.
Whitman, Walt. Leaves of Grass.
Williams, Terry Tempest. Refuge.
Literary Criticism: Garrard, Greg. Ecocriticism.
A Book on Craft: Murray, John. Writing About Nature.
Optional/Extras: Olson, Sigurd. (title suggestions??); Wilson, E.O. The Diversity of Life.

I’m currently reading Leaves of Grass, and I’ll be back here to offer progress updates as I read my way through this list.

I left off two books that I consider absolute must-reads for anyone wanting to read more in the nature classics category (because I’ve already read them multiple times): Henry David Thoreau’s Walden and Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. If you want to read more nature classics, I’d suggest starting with these and exploring the boards I created about them on Learnist:

“The Importance of Thoreau’s ‘Walden’”

walden

“Nature Classics: ‘Pilgrim at Tinker Creek’ by Annie Dillard”

dillard

I’m still looking for a Sigurd Olson title recommendation, so if you have a suggestion or ideas for even more nature classics recommendations, please leave a comment!

One response to “Thoreau, Dillard, and Nature Classics

  1. Listening Point by Sigurd Olson. He’s the father of the North Country!

Leave a Reply

