Upcoming: LIFE

A dream, deferred.  In May of 2003, I quit my job as a university writing instructor and bought a 1970 Volkswagen van. I haven’t had a permanent address since, and while I don’t feel particularly proud of my couch-surfing, backpack-toting lifestyle, it has made for some colorful moments. Of the last thirty-six months, I’ve lived seventeen in Antarctica, nine in England, five in France–the remaining spattered across the U.S. and other random places. I’m paying a guy I know to keep the van in his garage in Colorado, and I’d like to return–sometime soon–to see if it will start.

4 responses to “Upcoming: LIFE

  1. “Of the last thirty-six months, I’ve lived seventeen in Antarctica, nine in England, five in France–the remaining spattered across the U.S. and other random places. ” This line made me so jealous! This life sounds more like living to me than earning a paycheck at the same dull job week after week. You can always be stable and settled later…

  2. Huh. . .I recognize that small scale van, and love the adventurer who longs for it!! Can’t wait for more blog stories from the ice. Where are the juicy ones?

  3. I love your adventerous spirit, how you choose to live out your dreams, and your desire to come back for the fun, red bus! I miss you, friend!

  4. I saw your VW barn in Limon still standing just north of I-70 when I was hauling a load out of Denver last month; that’s a good sign !! The road is not quite big enough for me to get in there with a set of doubles.

Leave a Reply

