Landscape: Fall Light

Homey Home?Okay. So things keep getting wackier. I didn’t know whether or not I’d admit this on “Down and Out,” but here it goes. In addition to camping and staying with friends, I have also been sleeping in an airplane hangar. I don’t want to write much about it at the moment (as this is a “Landscape” post, anyway). It’s probably illegal to sleep in an airplane hangar, and the fumes are starting to get to me. While the difficulties of living like this have started to make me edgy, I still see it frequently: the beauty all around.

Just in case you were wondering, autumn has officially arrived. On the first fall morning, I was walking out of the hangar at around 6:45 a.m., and I turned around to look at the sky. So cool–I just wanted to swim in it, that liquid gold:

Liquid Gold Sky

And as I rounded the side of the hangar, the sun was just coming up, a big ball of orange setting the flatirons on fire.

Fire in the Sky

The paychecks have started coming in, and I suppose that I could (or should) probably find a more permanent place to live. But when I have moments like these liquid-gold-flatirons-on-fire ones, I feel like things are okay just as they are.

One response to “Landscape: Fall Light

  1. T-Mac —

    Hey there. I drop into your site from time to time. It’s odd to not be heading back to Antarctica for me but alas the right thing for me at this time. I just got back from a 10,000 mile driving journey to AK and back. Amazing. I was moved to write because I think living in an airplane hangar is the coolest thing ever. Well. . maybe a gas tank or wolf den might beat it out. . .but one of the coolest things ever nonetheless. This came to me: you “should” read Richard Nelson’s “Island Within.” Okay MacnamaraOps. . . .twb clear.

Leave a Reply

