Landscape: Fire and Ice

In the absence of any far-flung adventures within the past few months, my mind wanders to one of the best roadtrips I’ve ever taken. It was during this month two years ago, in Iceland with my city-girl sister. I bought a plane ticket to London on Iceland Air (because it was the cheapest flight) and then realized that I could stopover in Iceland for up to seven days with no extra charge. My sister wanted to join me from New York, so we agreed that we would combine our travel interests and styles to drive Iceland’s ring road. We camped at Euro-trash campsites along the way and then spent a high-style night together in Reykjavik before I continued on to England (and she stayed an extra day to shop). The journey involved 1,615 kilometers of driving on a slightly patchy road that covered the most varied terrain I’ve seen. Pretty good for a country the size of Ohio. Volcanoes, glaciers, rolling hills, and fjords rest side-by-side in Iceland, filling this small country’s terrain with some of the most arresting landscapes I’ve ever seen. Along with a poem I’ve been thinking a lot about lately…here’s a sampling from that journey:

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.

But if I had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

All photos captured by The Sister. Poem by Robert Frost. Top right: Out there on Iceland’s Ring Road. Next: The Blue Lagoon, near Grindavik. Middle: Volcanic Hills, in middle-of-nowhere, northwest Iceland. Bottom: Jokulsarlon glacier calving into the sea—this photo is Down and Out’s header as well.

One response to “Landscape: Fire and Ice

  1. I’m really glad that you and Shawna get together on these trips !!! MacDaddy

Leave a Reply

