Life: Vive Les Vacances!

NYC MADI take vacation seriously. As in, I use it as a reason to recklessly abandon some of life’s more practical pursuits such as work, routine, healthy eating, telephone calls, correspondence. I mean—isn’t that what vacation is for? If I’ve offended anyone in the past two weeks with this approach, I apologize. A little. So I’ll make up for my lack of chatter by dedicating the next few posts to my recent vacation’s highlights as they relate to this blog’s themes: adventure, literature, landscape, and life well-lived.

For two weeks, I took a hiatus from the snowy mountain la-la land where I live (Vail, Colorado) to return to a place I love: Chamonix, France. Some might also call Chamonix a snowy mountain la-la land, but I’d like to point out that Chamonix has heart and soul, and at least it’s original in it’s la-la landness.

But of course, I had to stop off and visit my sister in NYC for a little city time along the way. In the process, we explored her new neighborhood of Jackson Heights in Queens, complete with an old art deco Bollywood theater, curry houses and kebab shops on every corner, and a fantastic Indian market.

soho-cupcakes

We also ventured into the city as usual for a museum afternoon, this time at the very cool Museum of Arts and Design (above right), which houses some wonderfully quirky exhibits, including one that displays works made entirely of “found” or ordinary objects. Another exhibit titled “Totally Rad” showcases designer Karim Rashid’s sexy modern radiators. Radiators, sexy? Yes. The afternoon wouldn’t have been complete without a journey into SoHo and a cupcake break at Sweet Sugar Sunshine.

i'll fly away

Before I knew it, the weekend had blown by, and I was on another plane. This time, I made it through a nighttime pond hop and a convenient time warp to land in Geneva early the next morning.

Traci Macnamara skiing Vallorcine

After a short shuttle ride to Chamonix and a four hour power nap, we were out on the slopes just in time to get a few runs in before the après-ski festivities began…

The details:
Museum of Arts and Design
2 Columbus Circle
New York, New York 10019
www.madmuseum.org

Sugar Sweet Sunshine
126 Rivington Street
New York, New York 10002
www.sugarsweetsunshine.com

One response to “Life: Vive Les Vacances!

  1. Trace–Welcome back! I was just about to send out a search party. I missed the blog!

    Eileen

Leave a Reply

