Recipes for Common Edible Plants

cactus flowerI just posted an article about four common edible plants on the About.com Survival Skills site. Yes–plants such as dandelions, clovers, cattails, and nettles can help give you energy in a survival situation, but many of these common edible plants can also be good–or even really, really good–to eat when you prepare them in your own kitchen. Wild plant recipes abound, but I wanted to share a few here that relate to the common edible plants I just wrote about.

Nettle Pizza
For a lot more information about how to harvest and prepare stinging nettles, click here to view the nettle information on the About.com Local Foods site. One recipe I wanted to highlight: Stinging Nettle Pizza, described as having an “earthy yet nutty flavor” with bubbly cheese that’s melted on a sizzling pizza. Yum!

Dandelion Root Coffee
I recently read Rebecca Lerner’s book, Dandelion Hunter. The book contains several recipes, and Lerner also often posts recipes on her blog at http://firstways.com. Since I’m a coffee lover, I couldn’t help but get my curiosity perked by her recipe and blog post, “Dandelion Coffee: better than the ‘real’ thing!”

Red Clover Pancakes
Clover leaves and flowers can make a nice addition to any salad, but I found a website page devoted entirely to red clover recipes. The recipes range from red clover cocktail infusions to the red clover pancakes and red clover almond biscuits.

Try out one of these recipes, or leave a comment here to share some of your favorite edible plant recipes.

Want to know more about common edible plants?
Check out my article on the About.com Survival Skills site:
“Four Common Edible Plants”

P.S. The above photo is of neither nettle, cattail, clover, or dandelion. It’s just a pink desert flower I saw once when I was thirsty after climbing in western Colorado. Even though I felt tempted to pluck it and eat it right there on the spot, it was so beautiful that I spared it and only took a photo…

3 responses to “Recipes for Common Edible Plants

  1. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    help from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Appreciate it

  2. Just wish to say your article is as astounding.

    The clarity in your post is simply nice and i can assume you are an
    expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab
    your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and
    please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

